Past Event

From Carbon-Rich Molecules to Carbon-Based Materials

22–25 September 2014
Casablanca, Morocco

Important dates:

  • Abstract submission28 July 2014
  • Standard registration1 August 2014
View Conference Proceedings

**Poster Submission Deadline: 28 July 2014**
**Registration Deadline: 01 August 2014**

This interdisciplinary conference will provide unique “fusion” opportunities for chemists, physicists and engineers having various backgrounds but sharing passion and interests in carbon-rich molecules and carbon-based materials. It will allow mixed groups of scientists from all over the globe to discuss the current challenges, needs and goals of this quickly-evolving interdisciplinary field. The major focus areas will range from new designed methods of chemical synthesis, characterization, and structure determination of carbon-rich molecules and carbon-based materials to measurements of their functional properties and investigations into their potential breadth of practical applications as new materials. The list of carbon rich-molecules includes (but is not limited to) π-bowls and π-baskets, carbon nanohoops, nanobelts and short segments of carbon nanotubes, fullerenes, graphene, graphene nanoribbons, and full-length nanotubes. This forum is designed to promote excellence in research and education and to facilitate the interchange of new information among a broad community of scientists.

Confirmed Plenary Speakers

Prof. John Anthony
University of Kentucky, USA
Prof. Andreas Hirsch
University of Erlangen, Germany
Prof. Kenichiro Itami
Nagoya University, Japan
Prof. Dr. Klaus Muellen
Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research, Germany
Prof. Colin Nuckolls
Columbia University, USA

Confirmed Invited Speakers

Prof. Robert Haddon
University of California at Riverside, USA
Prof. Oana Jurchescu
Wake Forest University, USA
Prof. Nazario Mart�n
Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Spain
Prof. Kosmas Prassides 
Durham University, UK
Prof. Steven Strauss 
Colorado State University, USA
Prof. Latha Venkataraman
Columbia University, USA
Prof. Atsushi Wakamiya
Kyoto University, Japan

Other Confirmed Speakers

Dr. Konstantin Yu. Amsharov
Max-Planck Institute for Solid State Research, Germany
Dr. Fabien Durola
Centre de Recherche Paul Pascal, France
Prof. Yao-Ting Wu
National Cheng-Kung University, Taiwan
Prof. Hidehiro Sakurai
Institute for Molecular Science, Japan
Prof. Benjamin T. King
University of Nevada, USA
Dr. Milan Kivala
University of Erlangen-N�rnberg, Switzerland
Prof. John Tovar
Johns Hopkins University, USA
Prof. Kyle Plunkett
Southern Illinois University Carbondale, USA
Dr. Olga Boltalina
Colorado State University, USA
Prof. Ramesh Jasti
Boston University, USA
Prof. Andrey Yu. Rogachev
Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
Dr. Dmitri Konarev
Institute of Problems of Chemical Physics RAS, Russia
Prof. Michael M. Haley 
University of Oregon, USA
Prof. Stephan Irle 
University Nagoya, Japan
Prof. Daniel Gryko 
Warsaw Uniiversity of Technology 

**Poster Submission Deadline: 28 July 2014**
**Registration Deadline: 01 August 2014**